Most Recent Publications

Breaking News



Planning for public holidays and extra public holidays in 2016

By Faan Coetzee, Executive Consultant Employment, Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr

 

The remaining public holidays for 2016 are:

 

  • Human Rights Day, Monday 21 March 2016
  • Good Friday, Friday 25 March 2016
  • Family Day, Monday 28 March 2016
  • Freedom Day, Wednesday 27 April 2016
  • Workers’ Day, Sunday 1 May 2016
  • Public Holiday, Monday 2 May 2016
  • Youth Day, Thursday 16 June 2016
  • National Women’s Day, Tuesday 9 August 2016
  • Heritage Day, Saturday 24 September 2016
  • Day of Reconciliation, Friday 16 December 2016
  • Christmas Day, Sunday 25 December 2016
  • Day of Goodwill, Monday 26 December 2016
  • New Year’s Day, Sunday 1 January 2017
  • Public Holiday, Monday 2 January 2017

 

Workers’ Day on Sunday, 1 May 2016 is the only public holiday, except 1 January 2017 that falls on a Sunday. Monday the 2nd of May 2016 becomes an additional public holiday in terms of the Public Holidays Act.

 

Two consecutive public holidays, as opposed to one, impact more severely on working and shift arrangements. Employers need to consider and plan in advance for this occasion. Collective agreements and Bargaining Council Collective agreements may also govern public holidays, working arrangements and shifts.

 

Employees who are on strike on public holidays are not entitled to any remuneration as they would not have ‘ordinarily worked’ on any day of the strike, including the public holiday.

 

Employers can expect requests for additional days off on Friday, 17 June 2016 and Monday, 8 August 2016 to convert those periods into long weekends. Employers are advised to timeously make arrangements with employees who wish to take extra days off to take leave or to work in those days.

 

An additional public holiday may be expected for the local government elections which takes place between May and August 2016.

 

For more information contact Faan Coetzee at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Article published with the kind courtesy of Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr www.cliffedekkerhofmeyr.com

 

 

Courses and Workshops

Our Clients